Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,683   Posts: 1,548,544   Online: 1013

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Calling true Leica experts!

Was amused to find this:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Vintage-Leica-...QQcmdZViewItem

The body number indicates a Leica II model of approx. 1941. The gaudy refinishing is of course not original, the stamping "Monté en Sarre" as far as I know relates only to post-war IIIa models, BUT - I can't decide if, under all the ghastly "improvements", there could be a genuine camera. Any opinions?

Regards,

David

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Personally I wouldn't bother. I am no Leica expert, but I'm pretty cagey when it comes to the auction site. Having read this: 'Shutter fires at all speeds but, being no photographer, I have not put any film through it. In my experience only people who use and know cameras use that 'put a film through it' expression, so why would they claim to 'be no photographer'. I could be wrong. But to me thats an Ebay warning sign.

I also seem to remember seeing a wood veneered 'Leica' on Ebay about a year ago.

-----------My Flickr-----------
    Anáil nathrach, ortha bháis is beatha, do chéal déanaimh.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy K
    Personally I wouldn't bother. ... I also seem to remember seeing a wood veneered 'Leica' on Ebay about a year ago.