Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,924   Posts: 1,522,104   Online: 790

Page 1 of 25 123456711 ... LastLast
    mps

Shooter
    35mm

What's the big deal.... [about Leica]

With Leica rangefinders? At or around $1000! I am a novice by all means (35mm SLR only) and am looking at trying out other cameras/formats. I apologize for the navitiy of my question. But what gives?

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Get a Voigtlander Bessa R2 and forget about the Leica. If you find them expensive, you don't need one.
    aristotelis grammatikakis
    www.arigram.gr
    Real photographs, created in camera, 100% organic,
    no digital additives and shit

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    They are certainly solidly built and have quality optics, but a lot of the inflation of price has to do with collectors demand and people who place a high value on name recognition.

- Randy

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by mps View Post
    With Leica rangefinders? At or around $1000! I am a novice by all means (35mm SLR only) and am looking at trying out other cameras/formats. I apologize for the navitiy of my question. But what gives?
    Leica is made in Germany and has a great reputation. They have always been expensive, even in the 1950's which was their heyday. So, the reputation, and place of manufacture conspire to make them really expensive. They are also viewed as being something of a luxury item, especially new.

They are collected avidly, and they both are repairable, and are well built enough that they can last 50-70 years usually. This makes the used prices rather high.

If you are on a budget ($1000 is nice), and want to buy new, as was said earlier, a Voigtlander RF + lens will do you really well and you will be able to have the whole package under $1000.
    B & D
    Rochester, NY
    ========================