Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 74,445   Posts: 1,643,398   Online: 737

Shooter
    35mm

Leica 90mm f2.8 Elmarit M?

I had the opportunity to buy a new 90mm f2.8 Elmarit M the other day from a local camera store that was going out of business for a song & a dance. I was wondering how it compares to the 90mm f2 APO M?

I did buy it, but I still haven't had any time to go out and test it out.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Well, obviously it's 1 stop slower... The 90mm Elmarit M is a very nice lens, which I've used a lot. I have no direct experience with the F/2 Apo, but friends of mine have them and they are also very nice. I think you would be hard pressed to tell the difference between the 2 lenses under most circumstances, with my vote, if I had to choose going to the Elmarit. I only use black and white and the Apo is a bit too contrasty and hard edged for my taste. I think you should use your new lens without worry, I'm sure you'll be very happy.

Richard Wasserman

Shooter
    Multi Format