Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,540   Posts: 1,544,307   Online: 929

Shooter
    Medium Format

bessa R2-M vs. R3-M

after years working with slr's, i bought my first rangefinder a year ago, the fuji ga645zi. i have been very pleased with that camera, but now want to get a manual focus 35mm rangefinder. i am currently looking at the bessa r2-m and r3-m, but can't decide which is best for me, and i am a novice with rangefinders (or any camera, for that matter!). the r2 has brightlines for 35mm lenses, which i would like. but the r3 has 1:1 magnification. which would you recommend? is the r3 easier to focus because of the greater viewfinder magnification? focus is a issue for me, since the only rangefinder i have used is an autofocus. thanks.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I bought the R3M and found it difficult to focus. You have to have your eye lined up just right to see the RF patch effectively. I just couldn't get the hang of it. Others have absolutely no problem. I really loved everything else about the camera. The 1:1 is very cool.

Shooter
    35mm
    The focus patch in the MP and M7 are easier to focus.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by temujin View Post
    after years working with slr's, i bought my first rangefinder a year ago, the fuji ga645zi. i have been very pleased with that camera, but now want to get a manual focus 35mm rangefinder. i am currently looking at the bessa r2-m and r3-m, but can't decide which is best for me, and i am a novice with rangefinders (or any camera, for that matter!). the r2 has brightlines for 35mm lenses, which i would like. but the r3 has 1:1 magnification. which would you recommend? is the r3 easier to focus because of the greater viewfinder magnification? focus is a issue for me, since the only rangefinder i have used is an autofocus. thanks.