Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,571   Posts: 1,545,639   Online: 955

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Repair/CLA question

Hi all--
    I have a 35mm lens for my Canon IID and the lens focusing is stiff to frozen. Any idea of the best place to get it CLA'd? I was thinking about putting a drop or two of clock oil in there to free it up and then find a good grease for a more long term solution, anyone here have any experience doing this kind of thing? Would that be a mistake? Also, the viewfinder has a distance range knob on it, but it doesn't seem to do anything. Can I just use the one built in and just use the viewfinder to compose (is this how it is supposed to be?) I'm new to the rangefinder world and am finding it a little weird--not in a bad way, just different. The main issue I am having is that I am so used to seeing the image backwards from side to side that I keep moving the camera the wrong way! Anyway, I'd like to try out the 35mm lens but I need some advice first.
    Thanks,
    Matt
    --------------------
    "Everytime I find a film or paper that I like, they discontinue it." -Paul Strand

www.glasskeyphoto.com

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    There is a manual here:
    http://66.49.230.119/canon_pdf/canon_ii_d_iv_s2.pdf
    The only adjustment for the viewfinder would seem to be a lever which varies the magnification. If it's not doing anything, it must be broken! Some Leicas and clones have variable diopter correction for the rangefinder (to compensate for user eyesight differences), the Canon IID does not seem to have this.

A gentle application of petroleum-based lighter fuel (not gas) should free up the dried grease on your focusing mount. By all means try clock oil first, this will have less of a solvent action.