Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,557   Posts: 1,545,140   Online: 1035

Shooter
    35mm RF

Who repairs Kodak Retina cameras?

I just purchased a IIc on ebay and the shutter is completely stuck and/or the wind mechanism that resets the shutter has a problem.

I am not technical enough to tear it apart and fix it myself, so I'm curious of where to send it to be cleaned and repaired.

The camera otherwise looks promising and has the f2.8 Schneider-Kreuznach lens.

Thanks for any leads!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    This guy isn't very convenient for the states, but he has a good rep; http://rawhiti.tripod.com/index.html
    KEH is also a possibility

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by luke_h View Post
    I just purchased a IIc on ebay and the shutter is completely stuck and/or the wind mechanism that resets the shutter has a problem.

I am not technical enough to tear it apart and fix it myself, so I'm curious of where to send it to be cleaned and repaired.

The camera otherwise looks promising and has the f2.8 Schneider-Kreuznach lens.

Thanks for any leads!
    There are 2 things you can try yourself:
    1) Hit it with a very big hammer or
    2) Reset the film counter away from 0 and towards 36.
    Exhaustive tests have shown that method 2) works better .

If it still doesn't work, Newton Ellis & Co.
    www.newtonellis.co.uk
    of Liverpool England can fix it for sure, but so can any competent repairperson. The IIc is relatively simple by Retina standards, it doesn't have a light meter to go wrong or a long piece of string inside the body (I kid you not) linking the shutter, aperture and meter.

Regards,

David

PS: If actual repair is necessary, this shows what may be needed:
    http://homepages.ihug.co.nz/~Srawhiti/retinarack.html