Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,038   Posts: 1,560,679   Online: 1003

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm RF

Rangefinder Camera - Any recommendation ?

I'm a newbie and I wanna get myself a rangefinder. I can't afford a Leica rangefinder but maybe you all can recommend a few other alternative - something cheaper but with great sharp lens ( or something akin to the sharpness of Leica Minilux's lens ). I have been reading and researching in the internet. Some people have been hailing these rangefinders :-

1)Canon Canonet QL17 GIII
    2) Yashica Electro 35 GSN
    3) Olympus 35RC
    4) Olympus 35RD

Which one is the best ? Or did I miss some other rangefinder that worth mentioning? Please help... Thank you all.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I've read good things about the Voigtlander Bessa R2 and R3.
    Or how about a medium format RF like the Mamiya 6 or 7. I am sure you can get them cheaply these days.
    Or if you have more money to spare and want something as good but cheaper than a Leica, the Carl Zeiss Ikon is very nice.
    aristotelis grammatikakis
    www.arigram.gr
    Real photographs, created in camera, 100% organic,
    no digital additives and shit

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I bought a Canon Canonet QL17 new, in or around 1968. It was a wonderful little camera, did all I could ask and would still be with me today, except it got submerged whilst with me on a motorcycle in a rainstorm in the 70's.

I don't know what the GIII means, but if it's anything like the straight QL17, then it should be a reasonably good camera.

I enlarged some negs last year from this camera, they weren't too bad, especially considering the condition they have been kept in, and also the way I processed them back then.

Mick.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    IMHO of course, but: