Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,499   Posts: 1,543,190   Online: 1130

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Agfa APX 400

Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Images

Agfa APX 400

I have been a LF photographer for a long time and just started getting into having a 35mm around and want to do some street photos. I have some T-Max 400 and Tri-X. They seem okay but expensive since the big yellow god increased the price on T-Max. But I got a good deal on some APX400. what is your thoughts regarding this film and the ones above. I'm not too concerned with grain. I use Micro-x for developing. I have looked up peoples options but found only those who love a film really give their option.

thanks

michael andersen
    "Capturing an image is only one step of the long chain of events to create a beautiful Photograph” See my updated website: mandersenphotography.com

Shooter
    35mm RF
    I've used this film off and on over the past few years. Lately, I've been shooting with it a lot. I like the film because it holds the shadows nicely. Grain is nice and predictable.

It's somewhat like Tri-X, but to me it seems a bit softer. Of course, the camera that's being used plays a role. In general, though, I've been very pleased with the film.

I've been processing it in Rodinal, 1+50. I think the film should respond well in Microdol-X. which is similar to Adox ATM-49, which is similar to Agfa Atomal. It should give you finer grain than Rodinal.

Here's one shot with APX 400 (processed in Rodinal,1+50):

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I've also tried out APX400 because I got a good deal on it, plus using Rodinal kept the cost way down. I've a pictorial shot on here devved in Rodinal 1+25, but have to say that I've never really taken to the look of it.

http://www.apug.org/gallery/showphot...37&ppuser=5808

Shooter
    35mm