Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,329   Posts: 1,537,176   Online: 825

Shooter
    35mm RF

VC 40mm nokton, R3A problems

Hi all,

I just bought a new Bessa R3A with a 40mm nokton to go with it. It's scaringly fun to shoot with – almost forgot the D300

But I have a question regarding the everpopular subject of RF alignment. Everybody with a Bessa have!! :rolleyes:

The focus patch image line up just beautyfull at all possible distances. But to get perfect focus/alignment at infinity I have to turn the the focus knob on the lens, all the way towards infinity and then approx. 1mm back to achive perfect focus!

Is that how it's supposed to be. One might think that when you have to crank the focus knob all the way towards infinity and then 1mm back to achive perfect infinity focus/alignment, then something is wrong.

But i'm a newbie so I wouldn't know.

Best,

Tyge

Shooter
    Medium Format
    my r3a is the same tyge, as was my bessa T and my Bessa R - but I understand (perhaps erroneously) that as RF focusing is SO accurate, what you are focussing on isn't actually infinity because we cant see as far as infinity (!) ... you are focusing on something that is x metres away from you, but not infinity - if your shooting style allows, it might be better to use the hyperfocal markings when you want focus to go to infinity, that's what I do anyway.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Maybe the same thing applies to 35mm slr's.I was told by a local pro shooter never to set the lens all the way to infinity.Always move it back just a hair to achieve the best focusing.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Thanks for your quick reply. Now I don't have to ship it back to Robert white, who will ship back to cosina, japan for adjustment!!!

Thanks a lot!

Shooter
    35mm RF
    I disagree with these replies.