Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,549   Posts: 1,544,631   Online: 687

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

Best of the Russian Leica copies

I've decided that I'd like to have a Leica II (my mother gave away my grandfathers when told it was just an old camera and wasn't worth fixing) I've been looking at Russian copies since I'm currently an engineering student, translation: no money. There are tons of them on Ebay and some of them are pretty cheap. Since they seem to be simple cameras I could probably fix most small problems if any.

So which ones are best? I'd like to hear from people who have used/worked on/know someone who has either.

Thanks

Jeremiah

(Please note, saying "there have been threads on this in the past" is not helpful at all! The search engine sucks on this forum and you wind up wading through more garbage than you do finding answers. If you are irritated by my post, don't read/respond/rant! Move on! However, if you have interesting/useful/intelligent information to share please do so. Thanks)

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I have a Fed 3 with a Tessar-Formula Industar 61 (the "radioactive") lens. the lens is excellent and the camera is capable enough. It does not look exactly like a Leica--some of the other earlier Feds and Zorkis look the part, but I do not know how good (or unbad) they are. My Fed 3, with red leatherette covering, cost me about thirty bucks with shipping.
    John, Mount Vernon, Virginia USA

Shooter
    35mm
    Images