Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,669   Posts: 1,481,759   Online: 954

Shooter
    4x5 Format

My first impressions with my new Bessa R2S

I recently purchased a Voigtlander R2S kit and I thought I would share my thoughts about the camera and lens which may be of interest to the rangefinder community.

I should state a bit about my photographic style. I primarily use Velvia 50 film and I do primarily scenic photography. I am a long time amateur. I most recently used a 4X5 view camera. My style is well suited to this type of camera but recent back problems required me to rethink using this system.

I decided to buy the Voigtlander as the lightest weight outfit I could imagine, considering cost, lens quality and preference for manual focus film cameras. I had never used a rangefinder before though I had handled a Leica M7 at a camera store. I planned to use the camera with the same tripod, spot meter, cable release and fuji velvia.

The camera and lens I decided on was the Bessa R2S with the Voigtlander 50mm f3.5 heliar. This is the discontinued Nikon version of the Voigtlander R2 manual exposure camera.

I was attracted to the lens because of the great reviews the lens had received particularly on the Tao of Leica site, Popular Photography and other sites also positively reviewed the lens as well. One of the things I was interested in was a rangefinder lens that performed well at smaller apertures like f 11 and f 16, as opposed to the preference of a fast lens performing well at f 1.4. I had used a 150mm Rodenstock on the 4x5 so a lens with a similar focal length was desired.