Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,888   Posts: 1,520,741   Online: 1111

Shooter
    Multi Format

Argus c-44 lenses.

So I recently picked up an Argus c-44 rangefinder with a 50mm Cintagon lens. I was wondering if the lenses made for the c3 cameras will fit on the c44? This may sound like a dumb question but im a newb when it comes to these Argus rangefinders. Thanks in advance for any help!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    bump?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    2 minutes with google says probably not, but someone did modify one to fit the other.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I also don't think it will. I think I read the mount was different in this book.
    http://www.joesherlock.com/Argomania.html

Shooter
    Medium Format
    The C44 mount was unique. Even the lenses for the Geiss-modified C4 won't fit. Fortunately the C44 lenses can still be found - usually at very reasonable prices.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Good morning, Pryan9;

The lenses for my argus C3 and the lenses for my argus C44R do not interchange, nor do I know of any adapters to make that work in either direction.
    Enjoy;

Ralph Javins, Latte Land, Washington

When they ask you; "How many Mega Pixels you got in your camera?"
    just tell them; "I use activated silver bromide crystals tor my image storage media."

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Thanks guys! I just scanned the negs from my first roll and im amazed at how sharp they look...The only problem is that i think the rangefinder is a little out of whack. The images are not how i remember composing them..they all see rather crooked, especially when vertical.

I found this link and at the bottom of the page it describes how to adjust the screws for the rangefinder but how do i know when it has been corrected?

Also, one last question. Will a pre-cut leatherette for C4 fit a C44?

Thanks so much everyone!

Shooter