Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,300   Posts: 1,535,812   Online: 709

Shooter
    Multi Format

Leica M8 flash unit buying advice

I recently got a Leica M8 as a gift from my cousin and now I am looking for a flash unit. I am not a professional, but a serious amateur photographer. BTW currently I am looking at Leica SF 24D and SF 58 flash unit, but can't decide which one to choose. Need your help to buy the best one. I gonna check out http://www.dealrocker.com for discount and price comparison. If you have any better recommendation, please let me know.

Thanks..

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Nice gift! If you must use a flash (I prefer faster lenses and higher ISOs), get the 58 since it will allow you to bounce. I've never used a flash on my M8 (though I have the 24), but I use a flash occasionally with my Canon 30D, and the bounce makes for a much more natural picture, IMO. Unfortunately, the trade-off is significant bulk (hence trying to shoot with faster lenses, rather than flash).

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by mathomas View Post
    Nice gift! If you must use a flash (I prefer faster lenses and higher ISOs), get the 58 since it will allow you to bounce. I've never used a flash on my M8 (though I have the 24), but I use a flash occasionally with my Canon 30D, and the bounce makes for a much more natural picture, IMO. Unfortunately, the trade-off is significant bulk (hence trying to shoot with faster lenses, rather than flash).
    Thanks for your advice..

Shooter
    35mm RF