Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,902   Posts: 1,521,185   Online: 1124

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

Any Petri users out there?

First of all, I'm new to apug, and curious about any Petri Rangefinder users out there. I own a 7S and the 1.9. The 1.9 is well built, 7S is not as good mechanical wise, but both works wonderfully sharp, I acquired both in non working order and rebuilt both of them. So if you are a Petri user, what do you have? And what you have to say about them?
    - Derek
    [ Insert meaningless camera listing here ]

Shooter
    35mm RF
    The Petri 7S is sort of clunky. Some of the earlier Petris felt better built.

Shooter
    35mm
    I'm a Petri collector kind of.. especially their rangefinders. Agreed, the 7S and 7SII are clunky and they're the only cameras that I used that are doing more noise when winding them than actually when shooting. But they do the job and are light to carry. Also they've got a quite good meter and no need for batteries... plus one of my 7SII's has the faster 1.8 lens and cost me 5 bucks... what else would you need?

Shooter
    35mm
    I've got a Color Corrected 1.9 with the 45mm lens. I love it. Build like a tank. Bright finder and wonderful lens.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I never ever heard about Petri growing up. I'm 45 now. This spring I bought a 7S colour coated f/1.9 at an estate sale. I don't think in ran more than a few dozen films, based on the condition of the leather ever ready case it came in.

I like to use it in outside shooting, where the CdS metering I still find reliable. Mechanically the shutter cocking has gone wonky a few times. Needs a CLA, but I only paid $40 for the camera and a whole lot of flash bulbs.
    my real name, imagine that.

Shooter
    Multi Format