Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,985   Posts: 1,523,931   Online: 919

Shooter
    35mm RF

Voigtlander Bessa R3a and Nokton 40 f/1.4 MC

Hi,
    I'm a beginner amateur.I have some experience with film SLR but none with rangefinders.
    I can't afford nothing expensive as a Leica,so I had been googling and reading about the Bessa line of Cosina Voigtlander and Voigtlander lenses and i think will settle for the above mentioned combination for two reasons:
    -1:1 bright viewfinder
    -Fast and quality lens suitable for B&W street photo and candid portraits of unsuspected interesting models.
    Any thoughts about that combination?Any comments pro or against it?
    Oh,and i use glasses,but i don't like to shoot with them on,normally when I go out shooting,I use those straps to maintain the glasses hanging in your neck when not in use.So I will use a diopter.Normally,before going to the optometrist and finally getting my transition glasses,i uses +3 cheap glasses to read.Does anyone knows the exact or approximate length of the pathway between the eyepiece and the reading and coupling rangefinder,so I can tell my optometrist and calculate the right diopter for me?Here,there are few photo stores and most if not all are dedicated to digital now and don't carry the Nikon diopters that fit the Bessa cameras,so I can't try them and find the right one.
    Thanks in advance for your responses,

Robert
    "I would LOVE to shoot digital but I don't have a firearms permit."
    -Edgard G. Praus

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hi Robert

I was recently in the same situation you are in now.

I planned to get the R3m with 40 1.4

After trying the 1:1 view finder, and trying to use it with both eyes open, i settled with the R2m with the 25mm f2.5 pancake lens