Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,002   Posts: 1,524,417   Online: 1003

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm

Kiev 4AM Feels A Little Rough

Well actually, a lot rough.

I am a total FSU Noob. I got my Kiev 4AM yesterday and am a little disappointed with condition, both cosmetic and functional. It was made in 1983 and while it generally does not look too bad, I noted the following problems in decreasing order of importance.
    • Rangefinder does not attain infinity focus
    • Shutter is very difficult to adjust when going from longer to slower speeds. The wheel is difficult to turn and the mechanism feels rough.
    • Film advance/shutter cock is VERY rough, is fairly difficult to turn towards the end of its travel, and does not reliably arm the shutter
    • Light seals appear to have been removed but not replaced (no light seals for the most part)
    • Shutter curtains appear slightly askew and bottom curtain "latch" has signs of abrasion
    • Lens mount cover is dented
    • Fair amount of brassing and scratches on painted surfaces
    • Camera cover material is in poor condition and is lifting from the body in multiple places

The camera was listed in EXC condition and I am negotiating with the online dealer for a replacement, but I need some perspective on what to expect from the next one he sends. Here are my questions:
    • Is the wind supposed to be rough and "jerky" with significant resistance at the end of throw?
    • Is moving from higher to lower shutter speeds supposed to be difficult to almost impossible? I thought I was going to break something.
    • Where are the light seals? I expected to see black cord somewhere, but could not find any. Where are they supposed to be?
    • Is the mount/focus mechanism supposed to feel sort of loose with a fair amount of play?