Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,300   Posts: 1,535,899   Online: 930

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Agfa Super Silette Light Seals

I have a very nice little Agfa Super Silette L with the 2.8 50mm color solinar but it has a serious light leak. All other functions are working just fine, even the meter. I would like to get this little camera back up and taking pictures so I at least need a source for the light seals in the back of this camera, or someone who is experienced at doing this repair. It probably wouldn't hurt to have it CLAd at the same time. I've never done any of this work before so any suggestions would be appreciated.

Shooter
    35mm
    Are you sure it has light seals? I've owned a number of Agfa and Ansco cameras
    and none had light seals -- at least not the foam variety as found on Japanese
    cameras.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Yep

Yes. I looked again. Since my eyes ain't what they used to be I even pulled out the old magnifying glass. There is definitely a narrow, very thin piece of what looks like felt on the hinge end and what may be a string material in the grooves along the top and the bottom. I cannot see anything on the latch end.

As you can see from the attached thumbnail (I hope its showing up) there is most certainly a light leak and it appears to be coming from the latch end.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 003_02.jpg  

Shooter
    35mm
    Yes, that looks like a light leak all right but it looks to me like it's coming from the center of the top edge of the film door.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    You can use embroidery thread or a thin yarn. The seal in the camera was very likely yarn thats now been compressed after how many years?
    Take the camera to the fabric shop & try them on for size.