Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,962   Posts: 1,523,148   Online: 937

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Holga

First Rangefinder

This is my first post so please go easy on me, I'm new to photography but am extremely keen to get stuck in and learn and improve.

I mainly enjoy street photography and also takin casual pics of friends and family, I've recently had some fun with a HOLGA 120GN and also a Polaroid using some Impossible Project film.

However I'd now really like to get a Rangefinder and after looking on what seems like thousands of pages I've got a list of vintage and a couple of current rangefinders. I'd love to know peoples thoughts on what one to try and secure and if Ebay is my only option? Also what price is ok to pay?

• Canonet QL17 GIII
    • Yashica Electro 35 GSN
    • Ricoh 500RF
    • Vivitar 35ES
    • Konica Auto S2
    • Olympus RD
    • Rollei 35SE

I've then got a Voigtlander Bessa R2A listed but that would be new and would also totally blow my budget!

Look forward to hearing from you!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by infinitydreams View Post
    • Canonet QL17 GIII
    • Yashica Electro 35 GSN
    • Ricoh 500RF
    • Vivitar 35ES
    • Konica Auto S2
    • Olympus RD
    • Rollei 35SE
    The Rollei 35SE at least, is not a rangefinder camera. It is zone-focus.

I've used a Canonet, Auto S2 and Electro 35 and they are very nice cameras. You should be able to find one quite cheap (less than $100 USD.) In my experience since they are not very valuable per se, they are not always in the best condition. Just my experience.
    Those who know, shoot film

Shooter
    Holga
    Are there any good vintage camera shops in the UK where I could go to buy one of the cameras I've listed.

Also out of my list would you say the Canonet QL17 GIII is the best of the bunch?

Images