Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,331   Posts: 1,537,299   Online: 1045

Welcome!

1. Thorney
    Hi,

I thought it would be nice to have a group for APUG folk for the Island. So if you're out there, please join in the discussion or feel free to start a new discussion.

Not that we have anything against mainlanders... but we have a unique and very beautiful home island and most of us prefer to stay put on the Western 'Rock'

We always like to here from non-Islanders but keep in mind that this group is so we insular ones can network, schmooze, and who knows - maybe even get together for a shoot or put on an exhibition.

My name is Thorney and I moved back to the Island last November from the mainland. I was born and raised in the Cowichan Valley. I studied photography at Emily Carr in the 1980s and hope there's other alum out there. I am also an alumnus of the Graduate Liberal Studies program at SFU.

I have been doing analogue photography since the age of eleven, some 36 years now. I have the following film cameras/equipment:

Contax 139Q with 50 1.7 and 85 2.8 T* Zeiss lenses.
    Canon FTb (my first SLR)
    Rollei 35S with the good Sonnar
    Bronica ETRSi with 50mm 80mm and 150mm lenses and a compendium, speed grip, non-metered prism and 120/220/135N/135W/Polaroid backs.
    Calumet CC401 4x5 (rotating back) with compendium
    Shen-Hao 4x5 HZX45-IIA
    Ansco 8x10

LF Lenses: 135mm Schneider, 210 Wide Field Apo Raptar barrel, 210 Caltar-S, 240 Goerz Dagor Gold Rim in Alphax shutter, 305 Apo Nikor Barrel, 360 Sironar-N,420 Apo Nikor Barrel - and I'm sure I'm forgetting one or two.

I use a Zone VI modified Pentax analogue spotmeter V, and a Quantum Calcu-Lite XP for metering. Also the f16 rule and my d200 on occasion.

Beseler 45MX Enlarger with all the lenses from 50 to 150. Zone VI cold light, Besler Dichroic and Condenser heads.