Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,986   Posts: 1,524,028   Online: 858

Thinning out the herd

1. benjiboy
    I had until recently too many Canon 35mm SLRs and I've recently sold my A1 ( which I've never liked although I've had it about 25 years ), and 2 T90s all with a FD 50mm f1.8 lens which I had too many of, this leaves me with 2 Canon F1N-AE bodys a 1 F1N body with the plain prism , 1 Canon EF body, and 1 T90 body, plus my medium format gear which is more than enough.

I found the experience of parting with them strangely liberating and have vowed to myself never to buy another camera although the quantity of my holdings wasn't so excessive compared to some other members of this forum ( considering I've been involved in photography for more than fifty years ), and I've actually only bought 3 cameras in the last 25 years. I'm a photographer, not a collector, cameras to me are just a means to an end, I not an end in themselves, and to me the F1N is the best Canon manual focus 35mm SLR ever, and It's the one I mainly want to work with.
  2. Ralph Javins
    Ralph Javins
    Good morning, BenjiBoy;

Such self control and restraint. I am impressed. In contrast, I have not been able to resist the Force of GAS to any degree at all like that. Even my Canon holdings are becoming somewhat extensive, although not yet voluminous. The only bright spot I can point toward is the fact that one of the F-1 bodies and its lenses were purchased with the intent of giving them to Gary, and that has been done.