Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,557   Posts: 1,545,133   Online: 1082

Shutter speeds

1. flatulent1
    I come relatively new to the world of folders, having shot SLRs most of my life, so I have no practical experience to draw on. My Perkeo II, for example, has a Prontor-S shutter, with speeds listed as B, 1, 2, 5, 10, 25, 50, 100, and 300. Is it fair to assume that the shutter speed is actually infinitely variable between 1 second and 1/300th of a second, and the markings are there as a guide? Say, if I set the dial between 100 and 300 would I get a shutter speed reasonably close to 1/200th of a second?

Not that any of this matters, since I shoot b&w print film and attempt to process my own, but one day I'd like to load some Velvia in my 6x9 Ikonta, just for the thrill of seeing those really really big slides, fully aware that exposure latitude is a bit tighter with chromes.
  2. flatulent1
    flatulent1

<sound of crickets chirping>
  3. B&Jdude
    B&Jdude
    flatulent1: I am not familiar with the inner workings of a Prontor shutter, but the answer to your question would be found in the shape of the speed control cam.

A typical mechanical shutter has a cam of some sort that acts like a wedge to move a lever or pin which controls the length of time that the shutter is open.

Some shutters, like a dial-set Compur, have a cam with a continuously increasing radius, and as you turn the speed setting dial, the cam steadily varies the shutter speed. With such a shutter you have a continuum of speeds between fast and slow, and can set approximate intermediate speeds.

Other types of shutters have a cam that changes shutter speeds in a "stair-step" fashion . . . between each speed setting, there is a point where the cam suddenly jumps to the next speed. These types are not designed to be continuously variable between speed settings.