Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,938   Posts: 1,557,351   Online: 1184

New to Group

1. archieswell
    Greetings All,

I am new to both APUG and this group.

I started my interest in photography nearly 35 years ago, and always loved the classic look of the 500 C. I was fortunate to purchase a beautiful specimen around 2 years ago with an 80mm synchro compur, lens WLF, spare A12 back and AE prism finder. I just love the chrome trim and the silver colour of the lens so much that it is on show in a display cabinet. I had the camera serviced and ran a roll of fuji velvia through it and boy was I excited. Doesn't it just c#$# over digital.

I Love my Hasselblad.

Cheers:wub
  2. Q.G.
    Congrats!

They do indeed look good, those 'chrome' C lenses. And very popular with people who like the vintage look (many in Japan).
    So good that Zeiss even put a few new lenses in 'chrome' trim again. But with so many nice old ones around, why 'cheat'?

If you are after that vintage look, you should however get some non-A magazines. They are cheaper too. And work just as well, and as quick, as the A-ones.
    A WLF with struts would complete the look.
  3. archieswell
    archieswell
    Forgot to mention the A12 back is a spare. The back on the camera has a lovely chrome trim. Got onto a website where you can date the camera by serial number. The back is 1963 and the body is 1967.

Cheers
  4. Q.G.
    Was it (shameless plug follows) this website?

You can find user manuals there too, which may be fun to read.

And instructions how to change the light seals on your backs.
    Doing that is part of regular maintenance, and needs to be done every two, three years. Probably sooner with freshly bought second hand backs.