Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,514   Posts: 1,543,663   Online: 934

New to Minolta

1. Silvertooth
    Greetings!

I was just given a prestine Minolta X-700 with a 50 f1.7 and Auto 220X flash. Batteries (borrowed from the Pentax ME-Super) are installed and about to load a roll of T-Max 400 to check her out!

Any advice with the Minolta system is appreciated. I have shot with Pentax and Olympus analog gear for many years and Olympus and Nikon digital for about five years so I am new to Minolta. At one point I was the manager of a photo store and sold many Minolta cameras, but hesitated on the brand when they went autofocus with a new mount (that is when I went Olympus). I could not pass up this camera, though.

Looking forward to the "new" toy!
    Aubrey
  2. upnorthcyclist
    upnorthcyclist
    Hi Aubrey and welcome to Minolta-land.

Most folks like the MD-1 motor drive with their X-700 cameras - it improves the ergonomics and "feel" of the camera. These are fairly common on eBay.

A nice combo if you like zooms are the later model 35-70mm and 70-210mm MD lenses.

A couple of basic Minolta websites, if you haven't come across them yet:

http://www.rokkorfiles.com/index.html

http://minolta.eazypix.de/

Good luck!

Mike
  3. Silvertooth
    Silvertooth
    Thank you Mike!

I have been looking at the Rokkor Files site but not the German site. I will be visiting it momentarily.

I shot a few frames with the camera last night and have a deep appreciation for the lovely focusing screen and bright viewfinder.

I think I will enjoy Miniolta-land!!

Aubrey
  4. natalie_minhly
    natalie_minhly
    Hi guys, so very happy to be here with Minolta-ers!
    just had my Minlolta-XE7 from my birthday's presents. and im newbie in this land. So hope to explore the world through this camera! Nice to meet you all. ^_^
  5. Silvertooth
    Silvertooth