Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,514   Posts: 1,543,604   Online: 1118

New to Film: X-700

1. 51D7H3K1D
    Hello MMF fans,
    I'm new to film photography and excited to learn! I bought an X-700 at a yard sale yesterday that came with the 50mm kit lens as well as two Quantaray zoom lenses, a 75-200mm and a 28-80mm (both of which supposedly have Macro settings?) and are labeled MC and Auto Zoom (a feature I'm sure doesn't work with the x-700). I got it this sweet old camera for one dollar per millimeter! $35
    I guess I wont know If I really got a deal until I get some results back though! I'm shooting through a old color roll of film today just to play with the settings and lenses and see how it goes but I plan on shooting B&W so that I can develop it myself in my school's darkroom.

Any tips or tricks for an eager newby would be much appreciated.
    Thanks
  2. Silvertooth
    Silvertooth
    Welcome to the wonderful world of analog photography and Minolta! It is a great place to be! The X-700 is a wonderful camera. I can't speak for the Q lenses, however. I never had good luck with the ones I've tried, but others may have had a better experience. I would stick to Rokkor glass--it is some of the best you can get.

Aubrey
  3. Ralph Javins
    Ralph Javins
    Good morning, 51D7H3K1D;