Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,553   Posts: 1,544,962   Online: 772

Electronic flash and paper negs

1. Soeren
    Hi All.
    How is paper going to respond to electronic flash? Is it doable/usable/practical to light with strobes when shooting on papernegs?
    Anything I should consider before shooting?
    Best regards
  2. jnanian
    jnanian
    hi soeren

i am by no means an expert in any of this, just enjoy fooling around and experimenting.
    it is definitely do-able to use a daylight flash. you might have to bracket your exposures a little bit ( iso 6-25 ).

are you going to be in a "studio setting" or outside ?
    sometimes the burst of light from an electronic flash will lead to extreme contrast, but as a "fill" it could be helpful
    to brighten the deep shadows. i use electronic flashes ( and their modeling lights ) often ... but have only done this in a studio type setting.

i hope you post some of your results !
    john
  3. Soeren
    Soeren
    Hi John. In the beginning Im thinking a "Studio setup" though with a single SB26. Later I might try it outside. Id love to post some results but my old paperonlyscanner is outdated and I can't download the one driver that probably could have worked so until I get an Epson V700.........
    Best regards
  4. banana_legs
    banana_legs
    Hi soeren,